NFL Concussion Law Suit Version 2

It is the first of its kind, a class action law suit that not only includes the seven plaintiffs, but can include everyone that played in the NFL.  The plaintiffs are: Jim McMahon, Joe Thomas, Ray Easterling, Wayne Radloff, Gerry Feehery, Mike Furrey, and Steve Kiner.  They span a football career collectively from 1970 to 2010.  The other suit filed in Los Angeles with 75 plaintiffs is more specific to the “quelling” of research and includes a helmet maker as well.’s story explains this well;

The players accuse the league of training players to hit with their heads, failing to properly treat them for concussions and trying to conceal for decades any links between football and brain injuries.

The plaintiffs include two-time Super Bowl champion Jim McMahon, who has said he played through five concussions but now frequently walks around “in a daze” and forgets why he entered a room.

The suit accuses the NFL of negligence and intentional misconduct in its response to the headaches, dizziness and dementia that former players have reported. The suit, filed Wednesday, seeks medical monitoring along with funds to pay for the care of injured players.

The league has yet to see the suit but is contesting the claims being circulated in the press.

One thought on “NFL Concussion Law Suit Version 2

  1. Joe Bloggs August 20, 2011 / 08:27

    Im a short time additional suits will be brought against the NCAA, Colleges and High Schools. What a mess but this is what happens when science is ignored and quacks promote nonsense.

Leave a Reply to Joe Bloggs Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s